Phone a Friend?

What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it. That doesn’t happen much, though. -J.D. Salinger

I have wished this of many authors in my life but never as poignantly as I feel it now for Michael Grant. He is the writer of the YA fiction series Gone, a collection of books which will reach their conclusion this April but one that is so exquisitely crafted that even as I voraciously read every word of every book thus far, I agonized as soon as it was over, missing the excitement already. The books are like great sex: you almost don’t want to orgasm, if only to have an excuse to never, ever stop. As a writer for teens and children myself, the breath-taking way in which this man weaves a story, in a manner that never underestimates or diminishes the intelligence or emotions of young adults, makes me proud and more than a bit envious. I want to make love to this man’s mind and I don’t even know him! Sadly, he is married, and to none other than the writer of one of my favourite book series as a child (Animorphs), Katherine Applegate.

Leave a Reply

