Let That Be Enough: Switchfoot

I first heard this song during one of the most emotionally trying periods of my life. I was 17 years old and dealing with depression so harrowing that I was forced to leave the cocoon of denial that I’d shrouded myself in for so long and actually admit that I was unhappy, unwell, and terribly helpless. My depression, which was situational and not hormonal, was no less difficult because of it. In fact, sometimes I felt that the sort of depression where I could have just taken a pill and made it all better would have been vastly preferable to being a scared, lonely kid forced into a situation outside of my control. But those words, “Let me know that you love me, let that be enough,” reminded me that I wasn’t the first and probably wouldn’t be the last person who so desperately wanted to be held and told that they are loved. Knowing that we aren’t alone is the greatest gift music has given the world.

Leave a Reply

