Please, Please, Please, Let Me Get What I Want: The Smiths

“To see the luck I’ve had could make a good man turn bad.”

This song never fails to move me, but this line in particular never fails to both stir my emotions and my thoughts. I’ve often wondered how much pain, disappointment and sorrow a person can swallow before it changes them for the worse. Does adversity truly build character or reveal it? Can too many obstacles destroy a person, chipping away at their layers until there is only ugliness left? And how did The Smiths manage to make such a plaintive request for success in less than 2 minutes?

Leave a Reply

