Canned Heat: Jamiroquai

“Nothing left for me to do but dance out of these bad times I’m going through.”

This song gained enormous popularity with the release of the indie cult classic “Napoleon Dynamite” but it’s been one of my favourites for far longer than that. I’ve never been much of a dancer but dance music has never failed to lift my spirits and “Canned Heat” is one tune in particular that always make me jump for a joy that I may not even be feeling at the moment, catching me in a euphoric bliss composed of rainbows, sunshine and puppies. What I love most about this song, though, is the title. I’ve always felt that every person has canned heat inside of them, this explosive potential to be greater than what they are. I believe that happiness, finding and retaining it for yourself, is the key to opening this can.

Leave a Reply

