Les Miserables: Victor Hugo

He who does not weep does not see. -Victor Hugo, Les Miserables

 

“Les Miserables”, the groundbreakingly icon book, has been (sadly) overshadowed by the proceeding overblown and overrated plays and movies. But even the reworkings and recordings of the unoriginal playwrights and film directors of the world could completely take away from the heart of “Les Miserable”. The message of the story, in short, is this: Pure joy can only be attained by those who live in complete ignorance to the suffering of the world. I lightly touched on this in a previous post, but I thought I’d expound.

The truth is, there are so many wondrous things in life, things that will bring us joy, spark our imaginations, propel us to change the world as we know it for the better. Most of us can find numerous reasons to smile on a daily basis. But there are those things, those moments, those lose, those actions taken by self or others, that bring tears to our eyes. To weep is to truly experience what  life has to offer. Some of it is tragic. And some of it is beautiful.

2 thoughts on “Les Miserables: Victor Hugo

  1. I agree – I much prefer the book “Les Mis” to the movie or play. It is such an incredibly beautiful / tragic story, and with all the singing and hopping around, that’s kind of lost in the staging. However, the other Hugo I’ve read – “Notre Dame de Paris,” or the poorly translated English title, “The Hunchback of Notre Dame” – I actually prefer the Disney version! I think they took some of the cool ideas from the book and cut out the melodrama for a really fun movie.

    • I agree with you on “Les Miserables” but while I loved the Disney animation of “The Hunchback of Notre Dame”, I didn’t find it fun at all. Quasimodo was disfigured, abused and lonely and in the end, Esmerelda choose the man who is beautiful over him. I was 10 years old when I first saw it and to this day, the scene where the crowd throws food at Quasimodo during the Feast of Fools still brings tears to my eyes.

Leave a Reply

