The Beauty of Words: Part VII- Readers’ Edition

Have you ever read a passage in a book that was so profound that it rivaled in intensity actual conversations that you’ve had with real people? Has  book ever made you cry, the memory of love, loss, tragedy and beauty haunting you for months or even years afterward? Has a novel ever inspired you so deeply that it revolutionized your entire world view, subsequently changing the course of your life?

In this installment of “The Beauty of Words”, I’d like for my readers to leave a comment telling me at least one of their favourite books and why. Thanks in advance 🙂

9 thoughts on “The Beauty of Words: Part VII- Readers’ Edition

  1. One of my favorite books is “The Red Pyramid” by Rick Riordan because if has to do with Egyptian mythology, as well as the fact the main characters are teenage brother and sister who agrue a lot (the book is written from a recording, so both characters take turnes with the ‘mic’).

  2. I readily recall 3 books:
    1) To Sir, With Love by E.R. Braithewaithe (Ths was eventually made into a movie starring the great Sidney Poitier)
    2) As the Crow Flies by Jefferey Archer
    3) Eleven Minutes by Paulo Coelho

    • Thanks so much for your reply! I love “To Sir, With Love”. I haven’t read the other two, but you forgot to tell me why you love them so much. I’ll definitely check out “Eleven Minutes”, though. I love Paulo Coelho.

  3. I didn’t tell you why i loved the first either. i only told you that it was good enough to be made into a movie. It’s a true life story of a teacher’s (who came from the Guyana or Jamaica, i can’t really recall where he came from but he was black) experience teaching ‘tough’ kids in a tough neighborhood in London’s East End. I think i must have shed a tear after reading this book years ago. The kids were so bad, even the school authority were helpless at changing anything. Then came this man (a beautiful black soul)…an agent of change (which the book inspired me to aspire to become no matter how bad the situation or location is). The kids were transformed after his first and last session, i think. They didn’t want him to go. And the title of the book was a line (i think the intro) from a letter written to him by one of those students. IT WAS FOR REAL not a scripted out they lived happily ever after story, that it me.

    I don’t want to write a review of the other two. LOL. I seem to have lost my ability to summarize.

    Eleven Minutes was a sex worker’s true story, a journey in search of love. As the Crow Flies, i really haven’t been able to summarize, it was a bundle of so many things: love, honesty, betrayal, business, culture, feuds, wars, etc.

  4. I’m sorry, I read your reply but somehow my brain misinterpreted it as “I haven’t seen To Sir, With Love.” There was absolutely no reason to write the epistle i wrote. Must have been the day’s stress.

Leave a Reply

