Crowded House

Goosebumps.

This is terrifying.

You’ve coaxed me into this room

With the intoxicating, sound, smell and sight of you.

But all the seats are taken. 

And I can only stand there

As you claim that you want and need me,

As you do nothing to make room.

 

And I stand there.

Goosebumps replaced

By my heart,

Beating at an accelerated pace.

I’d given it permission to beat for you,

Ready to give it freely, rather than loan it 

Part-time.

 

But all of your guests are still there

The past,

The present.

There is no room

For a future with me.

And as I walk out,

I turn back to see 

That I’ve already been forgotten.

2 thoughts on “Crowded House

Leave a Reply

