Hostage: Sia

“It all begins with just one kiss.
I’m held hostage by your love.
Put me in cuffs,
Lock me up;
I’m held hostage by your touch.
This prison is rough, but
I can’t get enough.
The secret life of us keeps me in handcuffs.
Don’t lock me up!
Don’t you wanna free us?
I’m held hostage by your love.”

 

So often, in various forms of art, love is referred to as a prison, a state of entrapment. Perhaps it is. Love can make servants of even the most powerful and self-sufficient, turning us into slaves to our emotions. The compulsion to feel and act on feelings that are confusing and consuming can be terrifying and tumultuous. Luckily, those feelings can often be adrenaline-inducing and amazing, and cause us to be quite cozy in the little jails of our hearts.

Leave a Reply

