Wild is the Wind: Amel Larrieux

“Love me, love me; say you do
Let me fly away with you
For my love is like the wind,
And wild is the wind…

You touch me,
I hear the sound of mandolins.
You kiss me,
With your kiss my life begins.”

Before I get into dissecting this song, let’s get something out of the way: Amel Larrieux has one of the most beautiful voices and incredible vocal range of any person (man or woman) to ever sing R&B, as showcased by her very short-lived career as one half of Groove Theory. “Lovely Standards”, an album featuring covers of jazz classics, made some fans wary upon announcement, but the finished product was as sublime as her ethereal, angelic voice. Amel’s voice lends such tender longing and earnestness to “Wild Is the Wind”, arguably the most evocative, emotionally-transparent, effusive and shockingly sweet love song to have been penned in the preceding century. Amel’s vocal stylings, ever aerial, rift, and even sigh only enhances the beauty of those words.

Leave a Reply

