Possibilities

saarsriver

If we are to be friends,

Then be kind to me.

Treat my shortcomings with tolerance,

And my pain with compassion.

If we are to be friends,

Then know me.

Take the time to learn

The secrets lurking in the moments between

My laughter and the silent pain behind my eyes.

If we are to be lovers,

Understand that I require love.

I need my hand held and my eyes stared into

Just as I need my body embraced and my toes curled.

If we are to be lovers,

I have to love you.

Open up your mind to me.

Bring down the walls; I need transparency.

If we are to be more than eventual

Distant memories,

Then nurture my place in your life.

Do not block out the sun with coldness, distance, and lies.

Water us with sincerity, nearness, and warmth.

Allow us to fully bloom.

Leave a Reply

